J.Ive – good reference when desiging

Sorry NAME<Suppressed>,

I don’t know about this guy, thanks for the links.

Nice read, will try to reflect on these time to time.

Few of my comments in bolded.

Regards

Sandeep


From: NAME<Suppressed>

http://designmuseum.org/design/jonathan-ive

–          Maybe you have already read and consider him the Guru. I do. J

>SY> So far, I always created stuff I could imagine (wild), probably will have to exercise more on items mentioned below about design that appeals.

– the drives with respect to any design comes from my personal life which might silly and funny.

– I love my moms saree selection, and always try not to miss shopping with her, and always try to see how she picks sarees, and try to introspect why she picked that saree.

– right from childhood, I always had frequent tiered legs, and frequent migraine attacks, and when I help massage, I know how it helps me ease pain. Like wise, since I was a kid my relatives always believed that I have medicinal hand J and that I am very good at message.

– my mom once used to love for the reason that I was good counselor, may be lost this part of me later times.

– I love cooking, and I don’t cook regular stuff, and I try to create some recipes that I could make it up then and there.

– Next, I guess people who are interested in Philosophy seemed to have the ability to think in and out of the box in different depths.

– If I meet people who are passionate about anything, and I wish I could do that like them, so the sense(feel) of “madness” give me great pleasure.

– lastly, I  have the compulsion to end anything on a happy note, primary I am not at all an optimestic, but “good” and “ happy” are always the “profitable” and less long term problematic.

From: NAME<Suppressed>

http://devdaily.com/design/jonathan-ive-ives-design-interview-quotes-apple

Jonathan Ive design interviews – full quotes

While I personally enjoy the short quotes shown above, it may help to see those quotes in their original context, and to that end, here are the complete, original Jonathan Ive design quotes.

From a Design Museum Jonathan Ive interview:

“I figured out some basic stuff — that form and colour defines your perception of the nature of an object, whether or not it is intended to.”

>SY> Agree, I learned this when introspecting how people come up with Logo, branding, mostly they are all objects, of course there are abstract logos though. The same thing I have been contemplating on visual feedback, to match some real time object, but I guess any work done there could be a IP infringement to apple.

“I was really only interested in design. I was neither interested, nor good, at building a business.”

>SY> Bingo! This reminds me of a quote: Howard Roark: I don’t build in order to have clients. I have clients in order to build!  Also I

But I guess “Product creator mental image” is quite different to the “Customer” mental image of a product. Hence if we would like to do business make money, I think the quote becomes invalidated most of the regular cases, It should be (win-win)  “I Can build in order to have clients. I have clients in order to build!”

“Apple stood for something and had a reason for being that wasn’t just about making money.”

On Apple: “The defining qualities are about use: ease and simplicity. Caring beyond the functional imperative, we also acknowledge that products have a significance way beyond traditional views of function.”

Jonathan Ive quotes from a Business Week article:

“One of the hallmarks of the team is this sense of looking to be wrong. It’s the inquisitiveness, and sense of exploration. It’s about being excited to be wrong, because then you’ve discovered something new.”

Quotes from another Jonathan Ive interview:

“I want to see a problem solved in a way that acknowledges its context.”

“We try to solve very complicated problems without letting people know how complicated the problem was. That’s the appropriate thing.”

From a Wired interview with Jonathan Ive:

About the G5: “There’s an applied style of being minimal and simple, and then there’s real simplicity. This looks simple because it really is.”

“We wanted to get rid of anything other than what was absolutely essential, but you don’t see that effort. We kept going back to the beginning again and again. Do we need that part? Can we get it to perform the function of the other four parts?”

“It became an exercise to reduce and reduce, but it makes it easier to build, and easier for people to work with.”

“People have disconnected function from cosmetics,” he said, with a shake of his head.

“From a designer’s point of view, it’s not an appearance game we’re playing. It is very utilitarian. It’s the use of material in a very minimalist way

Thanks and Regards,

NAME<Suppressed>

Leave a Reply

